Great News

On Tuesday I went for my cognitive behavioural therapy counselling session. She showed me the graph of my depression and for the first time since 2006, it is going down, I am so pleased and I am finding it is really helping me.  It is not easy to change the way you think about things and I do always focus on the negatives but it is having some effect on me.

Working out what is a worry and what is a justifiable problem helps too. I found I was worrying over things which seem ridiculous really.

Seeing things from a different perspective is fantastic and working on the tasks she gives me gives me an incentitve to keep on going and recover from this that has kept me prisoner for so many years.

Seeing that light at the end of the tunnel is brilliant.

Knowing that I will be able to cope with difficult situations without worrying about the black dog of depression will be great. I am looking forward to being able to manage these situations like everyone else seems able to.

I was nervous about going to counselling as re-living the hard times is difficult but this is changing the way I am thinking about things and I can not believe the difference it is making to me.

I would highly recommend CBT to others if that is the right course of treatment for them, finding the right course of treatment is highly important for the recovery!

 

About julieledwards

I am a very busy mum of three. I work full time and finding time for me is always hard. I am going to be blogging about general life issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

